Lead: In February 1945 the leaders of the United States, Great Britain, and the Soviet Union met to set the shape of post-war Europe. It would be the last time the three Allied wartime chieftains Stalin, Churchill, and Roosevelt would meet.

Intro.: A Moment in Time with Dan Roberts.

Content: The meeting took place in Yalta, a resort town east of Sevastopol in Russian Crimea. It was one of three World War II Allied peace conferences. Preceded by the Tehran Conference in 1943, Yalta would be followed by a meeting in the Berlin suburb of Potsdam the following summer. Each of the three were accompanied by a full revenue of advisors. Prime Minister Winston Churchill came with British Foreign Secretary Robert Anthony Eden. Joseph Stalin brought Commissar of Foreign Affairs Vyacheslav (vyi chis ‘laf) Mikhailovich Molotov and President Franklin Delano Roosevelt was accompanied by his special assistant Harry Hopkins and the US Secretary of State, Edward Reilly Stettinius.  

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [107.06 KB]