Lead: The smallest independent nation-state in the world was created in 1929. The 110 acres of Vatican City house the spiritual and administrative headquarters of the Roman Catholic Church.

Intro.: A Moment in Time with Dan Roberts.

Content: With a steady population of about 1,000 residents - clergy, lay people, 100 Swiss Guards and their families - Vatican City is the official residence of the pope and is the governing and religious heart of Roman Catholicism. Its unique status as an independent state resulted from the Lateran Treaty of 1929 in which the papacy gave up its ancient claims to vast areas of central Italy, the so-called Papal States, in exchange for a section of Rome that would be completely sovereign territory -- Vatican City.

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [104.16 KB]